Texas law "The Texas Safety Responsibility Act" requires drivers to have basic liability coverage called “25/50/25”. Should you become involved in a collision in Texas, all three of the following conditions must be met to avoid suspension of your driving privilege.
$25,000 for a single death or injury.
$50,000 for death or injury to more than one person.
$25,000 for property damage.
Be ready to show your insurance card if an officer asks you for it. You should be aware that many out-of-state insurance companies are not authorized to do business in Texas. Before you drive here you should ask your insurance company if you are covered in case of a collision. If you are involved in a collision inform your insurance company right away.
If you have a collision and you cannot prove financial responsibility, you may be fined $350 and/or your license suspended. If someone is not able to be identified and is driving your car, you, the owner will have your driver's license suspended if financial responsibility is not provided.
More About the Act
The Texas Financial Responsibility Act, passed by the Texas Legislature in 2003, is a law that requires drivers to maintain a minimum level of financial responsibility in order to operate a motor vehicle in the state. This law was passed in order to ensure that drivers are held accountable when causing an accident. It is meant to provide protection for victims of accidents, as well as to encourage responsible driving.
The act requires drivers to provide proof of financial responsibility in the form of a liability insurance policy. Liability insurance covers the costs associated with an accident caused by the insured driver, such as medical bills, damages to property and legal fees. Drivers who fail to provide proof of insurance may face fines, suspension of their driver's license, and court costs.
The act also includes a system of verification, which requires insurance companies to notify the Texas Department of Public Safety when a policy is canceled or lapsed. This system allows the state to identify drivers who are uninsured and take the appropriate action.
The act also requires that uninsured drivers pay a fee to the state in order to reinstate their license. This fee is meant to compensate for the cost of providing financial protection to victims of accidents caused by uninsured drivers.
Overall, the Texas Financial Responsibility Act is a necessary law to ensure that drivers are held accountable for their actions and that victims of accidents are properly compensated. By requiring drivers to carry liability insurance, the act helps to protect drivers from facing excessive financial losses due to accidents caused by uninsured drivers.
Other and New Laws