Texas Child Restraint Law

 

Legal-Class-Comedy

 

Child Restraint Law

In Texas, the law requires every person who is in the front seat of a vehicle must be buckled up. Violations can reach up to $200.

Children younger than five years of age and less than 36 inches in height must be secured in a child safety seat. Whether or not a child under 17 years old is sitting in the front or back they must be secured with either a belt or child safety seat. If the child is under 36 inches tall and less than five years old they must be secured in a child safety seat.

For maximum safety, children should use safety seats or booster seats until they can properly fit the lap and shoulder belts of a vehicle.

More about Law

 

Texas law requires all children who are younger than eight years old to be properly restrained in a child safety seat or booster seat when riding in a motor vehicle. The law also requires all children who are at least eight years old and are under 49 tall to be properly restrained in a booster seat when riding in a motor vehicle.

 

The use of child safety seats is proven to reduce the risk of injury and death in a crash. According to the Texas Department of Transportation, child safety seats are up to 75% effective in preventing death and up to 54% effective in preventing serious injury to children in a crash.

 

To ensure that children are properly secured in their safety seats, Texas law requires the safety seat to be installed and used according to the manufacturers instructions. It is also important to make sure that the safety seat is the right size and weight for the child and is installed securely in the vehicle.

 

In addition to the age and height restrictions, Texas law also requires children to be restrained in the back seat whenever possible. This is because the back seat is the safest place in the vehicle for children of any age.

 

Finally, Texas law requires all drivers to ensure that children are properly restrained in an appropriate child safety seat or booster seat regardless of their age or height. Failing to properly restrain a child in a motor vehicle is a Class C misdemeanor and can result in a fine of up to $250.

 

In summary, Texas law requires all children who are younger than eight years old to be properly restrained in a child safety seat or booster seat when riding in a motor vehicle. It is also important to follow the manufacturers instructions when installing and using the safety seat and to make sure that children are always secured in the back seat whenever possible. Failing to properly restrain a child in a motor vehicle is a Class C misdemeanor and can result in a fine of up to $250.

 

 

Legal Aspects of Seat Belts